Beautiful pictures showcasing the stunning scenery on offer from New Zealand and it’s National Parks.

Tongariro National Park 
Tongariro is New Zealand’s oldest national park and a dual World Heritage area. This status recognises the park’s important Maori cultural and spiritua. Tongariro National Park is the fourth National Park established in the world. The active volcanic mountains Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe, and Tongariro are located in the centre of the park.

Te Urewera National Park
Together with neighbouring Whirinaki Forest Park, Te Urewera is the largest remaining area of native forest in the North Island. Lake Waikaremoana which is within the park is noted for its scenic shoreline.

Lake Waikaremoana

Egmont National Park
Comprises all the land about a nine-kilometre radius of Mount Taranaki/Egmont and some outlying areas to the north. The symmetrical cone of the dormant volcano is a provincial landmark.


Whanganui National Park
Borders the Whanganui River. It incorporates areas of Crown land, former state forest and a number of former reserves. The river itself is not part of the park.

Kahurangi National Park
Situated in the north-west of the South Island, Kahurangi comprises spectacular and remote country and includes the Heaphy Track. It has ancient landforms and unique flora and fauna. It is New Zealand’s second largest national park.

Abel Tasman National Park
Has numerous tidal inlets and beaches of golden sand along the shores of Tasman Bay. It is New Zealand’s smallest national park.

Nelson Lakes National Park
A rugged, mountainous area in Nelson Region. It extends southwards from the forested shores of Lake Rotoiti and Rotoroa to the Lewis Pass National Reserve.

 Lake Rotoiti

Paparoa National Park
On the West Coast of the South Island between Westport and Greymouth. It includes the celebrated Pancake Rocks at Punakaiki.

Arthur’s Pass National Park
A rugged and mountainous area straddling the main divide of the Southern Alps.

Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Extends from the highest peaks of the Southern Alps to a wild remote coastline. Included in the park are glaciers, scenic lakes and dense rainforest, plus remains of old gold mining towns along the coast.

Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park
An alpine park, containing New Zealand’s highest mountain, Aoraki/Mount Cook (3,754 m) and its longest glacier, Tasman Glacier (29 km). A focus for mountaineering, ski touring and scenic flights, the park is an area of outstanding natural beauty. Together, the Mount Cook and Westland National Parks have been declared a World Heritage Site.


Mount Aspiring National Park
A complex of impressively glaciated mountain scenery centred on Mount Aspiring/Tititea (3,036 m), New Zealand’s highest peak outside of the main divide.


Fiordland National Park
The largest national park in New Zealand and one of the largest in the world. The grandeur of its scenery, with its deep fiords, its lakes of glacial origin, its mountains and waterfalls, has earned it international recognition as a world heritage area.

During the cooler past, glaciers carved many deep fiords, the most famous (and most visited) of which is Milford Sound. Other notable fiords include Doubtful Sound and Dusky Sound. From one of the peaks within Fiordland National Park, a view of Mount Aspiring/Tititea to the far north can be observed.


Rakiura National Park
Rakiura National Park is a nature reserve park located on Stewart Island/Rakiura, New Zealand. It is the 14th of New Zealand’s national parks and was officially opened on March 9, 2002.

It covers 1,570 kmĀ², which is about 85% of Stewart Island, New Zealand’s third-largest island. The park area excludes the township area around Half Moon Bay (Oban) and some roads as well as private or Maori-owned land further inland.

It’s made up of a network of former nature reserves, scenic reserves, and State Forest areas.

Overlooking Oban and Halfmoon Bay on Stewart Island/Rakiura.

Write A Comment